Skip to content
ILADEF > About ILADEF > Pioneer in Lyme Award

Pioneer in Lyme Award

Leo J. Shea, III, PhD
Leo J. Shea, III, PhD

Every year ILADEF honors a member of ILADS who has helped to pave the way for future generations of Lyme doctors.

This year's Pioneer in Lyme Award Dinner will be held on the evening of Friday, October 15, 2021 from 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm at the Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress. It will honor the lifetime achievement of Leo J. Shea III, PhD, past president of ILADS and ILADEF. Dr. Shea volunteered his time, talents and treasures to ILADS just as the society needed someone with his vision. ILADS owes Dr. Shea a debt of gratitude for his guidance of our society in becoming a vital and sustainable organization.

This celebratory evening will feature time for you to unwind with ILADS VIPs. Dinner and light entertainment are included. ILADEF, the research arm of ILADS, is sponsoring the event and will be the beneficiary of funds raised that evening. ILADEF sponsors the Physician Training Program, which has helped train hundreds of Lyme experts.

Tickets are $350 per person. All but the dinner portion is a tax-deductible contribution to ILADEF. Receipts will be sent after the event.

Click here to Register for the Dinner

Watch videos below commemorating the occasion of past Pioneer Lyme Award winners.

2019 Bernard Raxlen, MD

2018 Kenneth B. Liegner, MD

2017 Robert C. Bransfield, MD

2014 Charles Ray Jones, MD

Past Awardees


Kenneth B. Liegner, MD photo

Kenneth B. Liegner, MD


Robert Bransfield, MD

Robert C. Bransfield, MD


Joseph Burrascano

Joseph J. Burrascano, Jr., MD


Alan MacDonald, MD

Alan B. MacDonald, MD


Charles Ray Jones, MD

Charles Ray Jones, MD


Nick Harris, PhD

Nick S. Harris, PhD